Enquiries: 020 3005 4921



Matthew Hall

Matthew Hall

Matthew Hall graduated from the University of Wales, Cardiff with a 2:1 in Music in July 2004. Since then he has continued to study at Postgraduate level, completing his Master's in Composition in September 2005 from the same institution.

During his time at Cardiff University he has had the privilege of working with and writing for established ensembles such as the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, the Sorrell Quartet, the Pième Ensemble and the Cardiff University Contemporary Music Group. Along with these ensembles Matthew has also written solo pieces for Daniel Becker (piano) and Gabriella Swallow (violoncello) for specific composition workshops organised by Cardiff University.

During his Master's degree, Matthew was issued with a challenge to write a test piece for Brass Band. He duly rose to the challenge with the outcome being that the piece was published by MMI Music in 2005, his first to be published professionally.

In 2008, Matthew was appointed Associate Composer-in-Residence with Tredegar Town Band, a position which has enabled him to have works performed all over the UK, Northern Europe, Scandinavia and Australia. His works have been performed in numerous prestigious venues including the Royal Albert Hall, London and Symphony Hall, Birmingham, and broadcast live on S4C television. Matthew is very grateful and indebted to Tredegar Town Band for this appointment which has enabled him to become one of the leading young composers currently writing for this forward-thinking ensemble. The appointment with Tredegar Town Band has also allowed Matthew to win the coveted prize for 'Best New Composition or Arrangement' at Brass in Concert two years in succession, the first composer to do so with their own compositions.


Choices ALTOP009

Choices, composed in 2006, received its premiere performance on 1st May 2007 at the Cardiff University Concert Hall. It was performed by Enrico Bertelli during a concert performance by the University's Contemporary Music Group. This contemporary marimba solo explores the full range of the instrument and the various techniques.

Marimba (4.3 octave)

Duration: 6 minutes

Score Sample

Price: £9.95

Reasons ALTOP007

Reasons was commissioned by Fusion Percussion Ensemble in 2008 and premiered during a concert at The Cathedral School, Llandaff later the same year. The piece is in two main sections; the first is based around a drum line and the second uses tuned percussion instruments and drum kit.

Player 1 - Tom-tom (high pitch), Vibraphone
Player 2 - Tom-tom (medium pitch), Glockenspiel, Xylophone
Player 3 - Tom-tom (low pitch), Drum Kit
Player 4 - Tam-tam, Piccolo Snare Drum, Marimba (4.3 octave)

Duration: 8 minutes

Score Sample

Price: £19.95